# Graduate Studies Committee/Recruitment, Admissions and Financial Aid Committee Annual Report 2016-17

**Members:** Kelzie Beebe (student member), Scott Bellini, Leslie Chrapliwy, Chad Christensen, Frank Di Silvestro, John Hitchcock, Christine Leland (IUPUI), Jessica Lester, Marjorie Manifold, Sam Museus, Christina Santamaria Graff (IUPUI)

Ex-Officio: Elizabeth Boling, Ghangis Carter, Y. Barry Chung, Brendan Maxcy (IUPUI)

Staff: Matthew Boots, Tracey L. McGookey, Liyao Zhao

Meetings: Seven meetings were held during the 2016-17 academic year.

## **Course Proposals**

- J660- course change request approved
- P610- new course request approved
- Y501- new course request approved
- T510- new course request approved with minor changes
- T512- new course request approved
- T516- new course request approved
- E546- new course request approved

#### Academic Programs/Certificates

Approved revision of the Learning and Developmental Sciences MSEd Program with minor changes Approved proposal for Sport and Performance Psychology Doctoral Minor

Approved revision of the Onsite MSEd in Instructional System Technology with minor changes

Approved revision to Electives Requirement for EdD in C&I with an emphasis in Math Ed

Approved revision to Requirement for IST Certificate

Approved revision for Learning and Developmental Science Doctoral Minor Program with minor changes

Approved revision for MSEd in Educational Leadership Online Program

Approved revision for Educational Leadership Program with minor changes

Approved revision for Education Law Certificate with minor changes

Approved proposal for Math Education Doctoral Minor at IUPUI with minor changes

Approved proposal for Changes in the History of Education Doctoral Program with minor changes

Approved proposal for New Joint Graduate Program between LCLE and ELPS with minor changes

### New Policy or Change in Policy

#### Policy for Faculty to Request Exemption from the Indiana English Proficiency Exam (IEPE)

IEPE is an exam of English proficiency administered to every incoming international graduate student. This policy states that applicants meeting or exceeding admission requirements and approved for admission to graduate programs in the School of Education may be exempted from IEPE examination by request of the admitting faculty and approval of the Associate Dean for Graduate Studies. The policy proposal is to place the waiver process under the review of graduate studies, rather than with the individual departments accepting international students.

## Proposal for Accepting IELTS Academic Test of English Proficiency

Graduate Studies Office recommends that the School of Education accept both the ETS Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) with a minimum score of 79 and the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) Academic exam with a minimum score of 6.5 for application to graduate programs.

#### **Additional Items**

#### Approval Process for Graduate Course and Program Proposal

This guideline proposal is intended to help departments and faculty considering submitting course or program proposals beginning in fall 2016. It has been posted online under the webpage of GSC/RAFA committee.

#### Proposal for Transfer Hours for a Certificate

There has not been a codified limit to the number of hours that can be transferred into a certificate program. In practice up to 6 hours have been allowed to transfer into these certificates programs. The GSC/RAFA committee formalizes the official transfer hour limit (6 hour) for certificates to the Bulletin.

## Proposal for Graduate Certificate GPA

There is no clear GPA listed in the Graduate Bulletin for certificate students. The GSC/RAFA committee suggests that they should follow the general guideline of 3.0 acceptable.

#### Awards

The Graduate Studies Committee/Recruitment, Admissions and Financial Aid Committee is responsible for recommending recipients of the Beechler Award, the Dean's Fellowship, the Outstanding Dissertation Fellowship, and the Award for Excellence in Mentoring. Subcommittees were established to review and select the recipients for all but the mentoring award which is determined by a student committee. Subcommittee chairs were Jessica Lester (Beechler Award), Chad Christensen (Dean's Fellowship), and Sam Museus (Outstanding Dissertation Fellowship). A summary of recipients appears below.

 Beechler Award: Jenna Gatzke (C&I), Sarah Libba Wilcox (C&I), Kathleen McCormick (C&I), Yi-Chen Chiang (CEP), Jennifer Duckworth (CEP), Chelsea Korth (ELPS), Yang Hu (ELPS).

- Dean's Fellowship: The ELPS department offered the fellowship to R Locke; it was not accepted. The fellowship was offered to a second awardee, who also declined. As of this report, the committee asked Dean Mason about whether to identify a third awardee.
- Outstanding Dissertation Fellowship: Heidi J. Davis-Soylu (C&I).
- Award for Excellence in Mentoring: Beth Lewis Samuelson (LCLE).

#### No old business remained on the agenda

Respectfully submitted, John Hitchcock, GSC/RAFA Chair April 19, 2017